Skip to main content

Special Education Resources

 

 

Parents, you can find information regarding the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), Dyslexia, Multi-Tiered Systems of Support, and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 here:

Resources on Special Education in Texas

 

Senate Bill 139 of the 86th Texas Legislature

Senate Bill 139 Updates in Special Education - English

Senate Bill 139  Updates in Special Education- Spanish

 

 

Contact Person for Special Education Referrals:

District contact:

 

Kelly Hobbs, Director of Special Education/Section 504

(903) 856-3628 Extension 1100

Khobbs@pittsburgisd.net

 

Campus Contacts to begin the Special Education referral process (Including an evaluation for Dyslexia)

Special Programs Coordinator/Administrators:

 

Primary Campus (903) 856-6482: Taylor Parsons, Tparsons@pittsburgisd.net 

Elementary Campus (903) 856-6472: Dawn Kennington, Dkennington@pittsburgisd.net 

Intermediate Campus (903) 855-3395: Katie Smith, Ksmith@pittsburgisd.net 

Junior High Campus (903) 856-6432: Johnna Owen, Jowen@pittsburgisd.net 

High School Campus (903) 856-3646: Jessica Ramsey, Jramsey@pittsburgisd.net 

 

Additional Resources:

Rights:

Notice of Procedural Safegurds -English

Aviso Sobre Procedim ient osde Prot ección- Spanish

Parent's Guide to the ARD Process- English

Guía Para Padres del Proceso de Admisión, Repaso, y Retiro - Spanish

 

The Legal Framework for the Child-Centered Special Education Process and includes the link to local school board policies and Operating Guidelines (District # is 032-902)

The Legal Framework

 

Texas Special Education Information Center

https://www.spedtex.org/

 

Partners Resource Network

https://prntexas.org/

 

TEA developed document regarding compensatory services

Compensatory Services - English

Compensatory Services- Spanish